Today me and Jenna started our very first home-brew. It’s supposed to be an American Pale Ale, but considering this is our first time, I’d be happy with a Very Swedish Bastard Ale. The final recipe looked like this:

  • Batch size: 10L
  • 1.6 kg light dry malt extract
  • 0,1 kg crystal malt
  • 20 g Cascade (60 min)
  • 12 g East Kent Goldings (20 min)
  • 8 g Cascade (15 min)
  • 5 ml Irish Moss (10 min)
  • 12 g Amarillo (5 min)
  • 1 pkg American Ale II Yeast

Everything went smooth. Cooling took about 20 minutes in the bathtub. OG was 1065 which is slightly higher than estimated (1059), but we also lost a bit more water so that’s probably expected. In any case, I decided to let it stay at 1065 even though an APA should stay under 1060 (according to beer smith), I like strong beer 🙂

And now I’m patientlywaiting for the bubbles to arrive. And depending on how the yeast comes on I’ll move to the second fermentation in a week or so.

Exciting stuff!

