So, I’m on YouTube for the first time. Well, actually it is together with a bunch of other persons. And to be honest, the camera actually manages to miss me completely with the exception of me left hand entering picture at one time. Other than that, stardom here I come!

I should perhaps be a tiny bit clearer. I’m talking about St Jacobs Chamber Choir. At the festival Musica Sacra in Marktoberdorf, Germany.

Knut Nysted, Es sollen wohl Berge weichen. Pump up the volume before listening to this. Really. It is supposed to be rather large and loud. It feels like its been ever so slightly compressed in this recording. Also you can’t hear much of the text, but I’m not sure you can blame that on the recording, I’m afraid St Jacobs isn’t always texting as well as we should. But I really like the pice, I’d love to sing it again.

Sven-David Sandström, Komm, Jesu komm. I’m not a huge Sandström fan. And this isn’t my favourite pice either. But it is a rather typical Sandström, for good and bad. It was commissioned by St Jacobs for their 25th anniversary. Double choir. Inspired by Bach. Ending with a very beautiful motett. Again, just a bit clearer text would have been nice.

Lastly, an improvisation over traditional Den blomstertid nu kommer. Not my cup of tea at all. But St Jacobs have been doing it for a while and the audience, sitting sorrounded by the choir standing after the walls, or simply spread out, in the hall, seems to love it.

There you go. Enjoy.

