This is a series of post starting here, in which I look at different CMS installations and despair.

AtLeap is a relatively new CMS from Blandware. Despite it seeming a bit immature, I was intrigued enough to install it simple because 1) it was easy; and 2) it screams “multilingual” at you at it’s front page.

The Good

  • Easy installation for anyone familiar with Java / Ant. For anyone else I image it’d be a pain.
  • Completely server / database agnostic. Impressive!
  • Multilinual content out of the box. Why doesn’t everyone have this?

The Bad

  • Cluttered admin GUI. One big menu with both admin items and real site items? No thank you.

Conclusion
I admit not spending too much time on AtLeap. It is obviously somewhat immature. I imagine it would be a very good base for larger projects with a lot of custom development, you get the goods right at you door and don’t mind writing your own themes and extensions. As it is, I probably won’t have time for it.

