This is a series of post starting here, in which I look at different CMS installations and despair.

Many hours were spent looking at systems which for various reasons didn’t even make it to any local installation or if they did, were immediately dumped. They include, but are not limited to:

  • Alfresco. For the life of me I couldn’t find any information on how to change the default MySQL user/password for a WAR file installation. “alfresco” / “alfresco”? No thank you, that’s not an option it’s an insult. Too bad, otherwise it looked ok, and the Spring, Hibernate, Lucene, MyFaces, JSR 168, JSR 170 list together with built in WebService support had been very nice indeed for a Java buff such as myself.
  • Drupal. Multilingual content?
  • OpenCMS. No non-root WAR file installation AFAICS.
  • Liferay. Same as above. Which is a shame, I think I would have liked it. Struts, Hibernate, Spring etc. Plus tones themes and a lot of extensions. Pity, if I get to run on a dedicated server I may try it out.
  • Jahaia. Seems ok, but does not support multilingual content in the community edition. Too bad.
  • Apache Lenya. A bit too immature, but interesting. Too bad my experiences with the Coocon framework aren’t the best. Never the less, I may install and try this one later on.

And on we go…

